Inaugural Cold Chain Sustainability Awards: Winners Announced

Date: 17 March 2023
Click to view

The winners of the inaugural Cold Chain Sustainability Awards were revealed 15 March 2023 at a presentation as part of the Cold Chain Federation’s Climate Summit at Warwick University.

Cold Chain Federation Chief Executive Shane Brennan said: “Our industry is making great strides towards a sustainable future through innovation, collaboration and serious investment into improving energy efficiency and reducing emissions. The Cold Chain Federation is delighted to recognise and celebrate the businesses, facilities and individuals leading the way with the new Cold Chain Sustainability Awards. The standard of entries in all categories was exceptionally high and we congratulate all those shortlisted as well as the winners for their important and industry-leading contributions towards tackling the challenges of climate change.”

The Cold Chain Climate Summit (sponsored by Blue Cube, ISD Solutions and Zestec) saw more than 200 delegates gather to explore the challenges and opportunities for the UK’s cold storage and distribution industry in tackling and adapting to climate change. Speakers and delegates at the Summit discussed themes including emerging low-carbon technologies, the direction of policy and regulation, and the impacts of global cold chain inequality; and Regional Vice President of Lineage Logistics Claire Walters gave insights into Lineage’s action on climate change.

The full list of Cold Chain Sustainability Awards winners is:

  • Energy Efficiency: Small Cold Store of the Year 2023 (<25,000m3): F W Mansfield & Son: Nickle Farm
  • Energy Efficiency: Medium Cold Store of the Year 2023 (25,000m3 – 100,000m3): Interfrigo: Antrim
  • Energy Efficiency: Large Cold Store of the Year 2023 (>100,000m3): Fowler Welch: Spalding
  • Energy Efficiency: Distribution Centre of the Year 2023: Sainsbury’s: Waltham Point
  • Innovation of the Year – Transport: Marshall Fleet Solutions: Titan Solar Recovery System
  • Innovation of the Year – Cold Storage: Carrier: PowerCO 2OL S
  • Sustainable Cold Storage Operator of the Year 2023: DFDS
  • Sustainable Cold Chain Transport Operator 2023: Martin Brower
  • Cold Chain Champion 2023: Joanne Moore on behalf of The P&M Group

Find out more on our website about: cold chain

Please share the news

Related News