Finalists announced for AIRAH Awards 2021

Date: 22 September 2021
Finalists announced for AIRAH Awards 2021
Finalists announced for AIRAH Awards 2021
Finalists announced for AIRAH Awards 2021

AIRAH has announced finalists across 12 categories for the AIRAH Awards 2021, highlighting the leaders of our sector and celebrating the vital work being done in HVAC&R and building services.

In another year marked by the pandemic, the HVAC&R and building services industry has received more mainstream attention than ever. Ventilation and indoor air quality have been front‑page news, and issues with hotel quarantine have made concepts such as negative and positive pressure topics of everyday conversation.

But despite this, widespread public appreciation of the HVAC&R industry remains relatively modest. AIRAH Chief Executive Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH, says the AIRAH Awards play a vital role not only in recognising excellence within out sector, but also making it more visible to those outside it.

“By celebrating these people, projects and people, the AIRAH Awards seek to raise the profile of our industry,” Gleeson says. “The finalists selected by our expert and independent panel of judges are not just the leaders in their fields – they are ambassadors for HVAC&R and building services to the wider population.”

Due to the uncertainty around ongoing restrictions, and for the safety of attendees, the AIRAH Awards Gala has been scheduled for Thursday, February 17, 2022, at Doltone House, Pyrmont Point, NSW.

“We are very much looking forward to celebrating the finalists – and announcing the winners – at the AIRAH Awards Gala,” says Gleeson.


Student of the Year Award – Higher Education or Research

  • Ashfaque Chowdhury, Affil.AIRAH – Central Queensland University

  • Soha Matour, Stud.AIRAH – Queensland University of Technology

  • Craig Pickup, Stud.AIRAH – University of Wollongong

Student of the Year – Trade (sponsored by LG)

  • James Errington, Stud.AIRAH – TAFE SA

  • Jason Evangelidis, Stud.AIRAH – CFM

  • Jessica Lonsdale, Stud.AIRAH – South Metropolitan TAFE

Future Leader (sponsored by A.G. Coombs)

  • Malik Awais, Affil.AIRAH – Johnson Controls

  • Iain Stewart, Affil.AIRAH – Exergenics

  • Alyce Wilson, Affil.AIRAH – HydroChem

Excellence in Innovation (sponsored by Mitsubishi Electric)

  • 25 King – A.G. Coombs and Aurecon

  • Advancing Renewable Energy with Thermal Energy Storage – Glaciem Cooling Technologies

  • Queensland Children's Hospital – PlantScore Digital Twin – Exergenics

Excellence in Refrigeration

  • ARENA-WF Montague - Glaciem Cooling Technologies

  • Fernhurst – Scantec Refrigeration Technologies

Excellence in HVAC&R Research

  • Model predictive control (MPC) to improve HVAC operation – Keivan Bamdad Masouleh

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

  • Refrigeration Teaching Section Ultimo College, TAFE NSW

Excellence in Sustainability

  • 12 Creek Street – The Annex – NDY

  • 25 King – A.G. Coombs and Aurecon

  • Armadale Aquatic Centre – PDF Engineering

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade

  • ACT Schools HVAC Upgrades – ESBS

  • HVAC Optimisation Stage 2 – Woolworths Group

  • The Hayesbery – HDR | Hurley Palmer Flatt

  • The University of Queensland AIBN Heat Pump Retrofit – NDY

Product of the Year (sponsored by HVAC&R Search)

  • Air Purifier V3R Bio-clean Gel – SAN-AIR

  • Kaire Unit – Camfil

  • The McMonty – Medihood

  • NEO – ActronAir

  • PEAK Platform – CIM

Innovative use of Renewable Energy in HVAC&R

  • Advancing Renewable Energy with Thermal Energy Storage – Glaciem Cooling Technologies

  • Advancing Solar Energy and Thermal Storage – University of Wollongong

WR Ahern Award (sponsored by Ecolibrium)

This prize is awarded to the best technical paper by an AIRAH member published in Ecolibrium.

“Change in carpark ventilation” – February 2020 Ecolibrium
by Rob Lord, M.AIRAH and Emily Smith

“Assessing the performance of fire sprinkler systems with fast-response heads” – May 2020 Ecolibrium
by Firas Shawash, M.AIRAH.

“Effective integration of polymer plate heat exchangers – A simulation study for evaluating their use in tall commercial office buildings” – June 2020 Ecolibrium
by Arjun Adhikari; Professor Guan H. Yeoh; Dr Chris Menictas, M.AIRAH; and Dr Victoria Timchenko.

James Harrison Medal

The winner of the James Harrison Medal – AIRAH’s most prestigious recognition in honour of the highest levels of individual achievement in Australian HVAC&R – will be announced next month.

The AIRAH Awards Gala will be held on February 17, 2022, at Doltone House, Pyrmont Point, NSW.

For more information and to register for the Awards ceremony, go to

Find out more on our website about: HVAC

Related News

generated: 0.0104