Ted Perry Award for Student Research

Date: 09 October 2018

Nominations for the next award are now open

Download the pack here Deadline for nominations is 15th October 2018 The award is open to post graduate students undertaking research of a practical nature in a field related to air conditioning or refrigeration. It is designed to encourage interest amongst bright and promising students and is sponsored by Hawco Limited. A set of ASHRAE databooks are donated to the winner in memory of Ted Perry, Past President of the IOR, by his wife Barbara Perry. The prize includes an engraved tankard, set of ASHRAE Databooks on CD and a cheque for £1000.00. The winner will be presented with the award at the IOR Annual Dinner being held in February. Past winners have covered topics as diverse as use of the heat sink effect to cool underground tunnels, cryogenic freezing, domestic refrigerator design, and solar powered refrigeration.

2017/2018 Winner

This year the award was presented to Christina Francis of London South Bank University for her research project that delivered a comprehensive study into the direct and indirect impact of carbon emissions from refrigerated transport systems. The particular focus of this research was on the growing area of supermarket home delivery vehicles. The results have provided new insights into the causes of direct emissions through refrigerant leakage and led to the redesign of key component by a major UK transport manufacturer. Christina will present a paper on her work to members on the 7th March 2018 at London South Bank University.
Find out more on our website about: refrigeration, air conditioning

Related News

generated: 0.0091