Industry leaders named and acclaimed at AIRAH Awards 2020

Date: 13 November 2020
Industry leaders named and acclaimed at AIRAH Awards 2020
Industry leaders named and acclaimed at AIRAH Awards 2020
Industry leaders named and acclaimed at AIRAH Awards 2020

In a special online edition of its annual awards ceremony, AIRAH has announced the winners of the AIRAH Awards 2020. Held as the culmination of AIRAH’s Outlook 2020 international HVAC&R conference, the awards celebrated the leading people, projects and products in Australia’s HVAC&R industry across 11 categories.

The winners’ list features some of Australia’s most sustainable buildings and innovative upgrades, as well as young researchers and rising stars of the sector. Phil Carruthers, F.AIRAH, earned AIRAH’s highest honour, the James Harrison Medal, for his contribution to HVAC&R over a career of more than 50 years.

The ceremony was sponsored by Daikin, hosted by comedian Harley Breen, and included messages from industry figures, both local and international.

AIRAH CEO Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH, says this year’s awards ceremony held extra significance, coming at the close of such a tumultuous year.

“We’ve all had to adjust and adapt during 2020,” says Gleeson, “But I’m very pleased that we’ve been able to maintain some traditions– like the AIRAH Awards. In 2020 we are celebrating our Centenary, so it was especially important we hold the event this year.

“It’s also fitting that we wrap up our major event of 2020 by celebrating HVAC&R, because without our industry, Australia may not have survived the pandemic. Through this year’s lockdowns, we relied more heavily than ever on heating, cooling and refrigeration to keep our cold chains working, keep our data centres running, and keep our hospitals and healthcare facilities operating.

“As we look to the future and the next 100 years for AIRAH, we see exciting times ahead. This year has focused greater attention on what we do, particularly activities such as ventilation and improving indoor air quality. As we recover from the pandemic and the lockdowns it imposed, the HVAC&R sector will be challenged to provide more innovative and sustainable solutions. Looking at the list of winners in this year’s AIRAH Awards, I’m confident our industry is ready to rise to that challenge.”

Winners of the AIRAH Awards 2020 are:

Student of the Year – Higher Education or Research
Nima Izadyar, Affil.AIRAH

Product of the Year (sponsored by HVAC&R Search)
Temperzone – OPA Eco Ultra

Excellence in HVAC&R Research
Dr Xiaolin Wang, Affil.AIRAH, ANU – Carbon dioxide hydrate-based cold thermal energy storage and carbon capture

Denis Joseph Award for Innovative Use of Solar Energy in HVAC&R
Veolia and McClintock Engineering Group – Innovative solar thermal water battery

WR Ahern Award (sponsored by Ecolibrium)
James Spears, M.AIRAH – Improving pump efficiency: A combination of regulation and good design (Ecolibrium, July 2019)

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade
IT Critical Systems – BHP Olympic Dam: DR site upgrade

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion
Norman Disney & Young

Excellence in Innovation
McClintock Engineering Group – University of Queensland, Gatton Campus

Future Leader (sponsored by A.G. Coombs)
Grace Foo, M.AIRAH

Excellence in Sustainability (sponsored by ActronAir)
Norman Disney & Young and Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre –
Plumbing Industry Climate Action Centre Narren Warren

James Harrison Medal
Phil Carruthers, F.AIRAH

Find out more on our website about: HVAC, refrigeration, Daikin

Related News

generated: 0.0128