The nominations for the IOR awards are now open

Date: 22 September 2020
The nominations for the IOR awards are now open
The nominations for the IOR awards are now open
Nominations are now open for the Institute of Refrigeration’s (IOR) awards which recognise the achievements of some of the industry’s most talented and exceptional individuals at various stages of their career whether they are researchers, innovators, or service engineers.

The IOR promotes achievement and innovation in refrigeration, air conditioning, and heat pump applications through a number of annual awards. The awards cover individuals at all stages of their career including students, researchers, authors, innovators, and lifetime achievement.

The award winners at the 2020 IOR Annual Dinner.

Left to right:

Andrew Gigiel, Winner of the Lightfoot Medal

Qi Xu, Winner of the Ted Perry Award for Student Research.

Kevin Glass, IOR President

Paul Gardner, Winner of the Service Engineer Lifetime Achievement Award

David Pearson, Winner of the J&E Hall International Gold Medal

J&E Hall International Gold Medal for practical contribution to the development of RACHP technology

Click here for application forms and information

This internationally respected award recognises the most noteworthy practical contribution to the science of refrigeration. It can be given to an individual or team with recent outstanding achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Practical applications of innovative designs
  • Projects which have made an original contribution to the field
  • Systems which demonstrate substantial potential and evidence that they will be completed successfully
  • Outstanding and significant work in a new or unusual area

Ted Perry Award for student research

Click here for application forms and information

This award is designed to encourage and promote research by students related to refrigeration and air conditioning. It highlights future leading thinkers currently working at Undergraduate or Post Graduate level. The award includes a prize of £1000 sponsored by Hawco Ltd and a set of ASHRAE Databooks donated in the memory Ted Perry, Past President of the IOR, by his wife Barbara Perry. The winner is invited to give a talk to IOR members based on their research.

Kenneth Lightfoot Medal for a paper published by the IOR

Click here for more information and to vote

Voted for by the IOR membership, the winner is the individual or team who has presented the best paper to the IOR during the year. The prize includes £500 and a Medal and is supported by Lightfoot Defence in honour of the Past President of the Institute, Kenneth Lightfoot FInstR.

RACHP Engineering Technician Lifetime Achievement Award

Click here for application forms and more information

The IOR RACHP Engineering Technician Section makes a lifetime achievement award to recognise an individual's commitment to a career in service, maintenance or installation engineering. This award includes a cash prize and invitation to the IOR Annual Dinner. It is sponsored by The ACR Journal.

Find out more on our website about: refrigeration, air conditioning, heat pump

Related News

generated: 0.0122