Finalists named for the 2018 AIRAH Awards

Date: 04 October 2018
The finalists have been announced for this year’s AIRAH Awards, with an elite selection of the industry’s top projects, products and individuals in contention.

The AIRAH Awards judges have sifted, assessed and ranked a welter of nominations to name finalists across the categories. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne on November 15. “We are living through a time of tremendous transformation and disruption in the built environment,” says AIRAH CEO Tony Gleeson, M.AIRAH. “This is as acting as a catalyst for the HVAC&R industry to reach ever greater heights of excellence. “The AIRAH Awards offer a chance to acknowledge and to celebrate the industry’s progress and performance. All of the finalists have achieved a standard of excellence that deserves recognition.”

FINALISTS Future Leader Award
Massimo Fiorentini, Affil.AIRAH, SBRC, University of Wollongong; Jason Harrison, M.AIRAH, Airmaster; Lina Le, Affil.AIRAH, BUENO; Firas Shawash, Affil.AIRAH, i-Fire Engineers; Chris Stamatis, Affil.AIRAH, CopperTree Analytics; Mark Vigors, M.AIRAH, Ellis Air Conditioning.

Student of the Year – Trade
Matthew Benger, Stud.AIRAH, TAFE SA; Patrick Brennan, Stud.AIRAH, TAFE Queensland SkillsTech; Anthony Consterdine, M.AIRAH, South Metropolitan Polytechnic TAFE, WA; Matthew Farrugia, Stud.AIRAH, TAFE NSW – Nirimba.

Student of the Year – Higher Education orResearch
Farnam Fathalian, Stud.AIRAH, South Metropolitan Polytechnic TAFE, WA; Clayton McDowell, Stud.AIRAH, University of Wollongong.

Product of the Year
Trafalgar Fire Containment – Firebox; Aeris Environmental – Corrosion Protection Plus; Hevac Controls – HCP7; Seeley International – Braemar Evolution.

Excellence in Refrigeration
Cold Logic – Coopers Brewery; Glaciem Cooling – The Bend Motorsport Park; Heatcraft and Goff’s Refrigeration – Optus Stadium.

Excellence in Sustainability Refrigeration Innovations – Ritchies IGA Supermarket; BUENO – Crown – Data utilisation; NDY – ANU RN Robertson building; CIM Enviro – 99 Elizabeth St; A.G. Coombs and AECOM – ICC Sydney; Kingspan Insulation – Kingspan Insulation manufacturing facility.

Excellence in Innovation
A.G. Coombs and AECOM – ICC Sydney; Airmaster – Tuggerong Office Park; Black Stump Technologies– ANGAU memorial hospital, Papua New Guinea; Airmaster – John Gorton Building; Kingspan Insulation – Kingspan Insulation manufacturing facility.

Best HVAC Retrofit or Upgrade
NDY – ANU RN Robertson building; Aurecon – UQ TC Beirne School of Law; Cundall – TAFE NSW Northern Sydney Institute of Asian Cookery; ENGIE Services ANZ – Four Seasons Hotel Sydney; AECOM – RMIT New Academic Street; Energy Action – 221 London Circuit.

The WR Ahern Award goes to the best technical paper published in Ecolibrium written by an AIRAH member. Eight papers are eligible this year.

Also in 2018, AIRAH will be presenting the James Harrison Medal, the Institute’s highest honour, to an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime contribution to the HVAC&R industry.
Find out more on our website about: HVAC, Heatcraft

Related News

generated: 0.012